Nevada Traffic Ticket Questions

What is the Demerit Point System?

Traffic law violations in Nevada are allocated by a point value. When the DMV receives a conviction notice from the courts, the conviction is applied to your driving record and the appropriate points are assigned. If you are convicted of a major traffic offense, such as DUI, your license will be revoked instead of demerit points being assigned due to the serious nature of such offenses. Your driving privilege can be suspended if you receive 12 points or more within a 12 month period.

What if I received a citation in another state but I am a resident of Nevada?

Contact the county court listed on the citation for possible plea bargain arrangements. Although you do not receive demerit points for out of state convictions, any conviction you do receive will become part of your Nevada driving record.

Where do I find the court contact information?

If you would like to contact the county court where your ticket was issued, you can use the information contained on your ticket. Alternatively, the link below provides you with the relevant contact information.

http://www.nvsupremecourt.us/info/nvcourts/index.php

What if I’m a resident of another state but received a citation in Nevada?

Contact the county court listed on the citation for possible plea bargain arrangements. If you were convicted of an offense or you have already paid the citation, contact the DMV in your home state to establish their policy on traffic safety school and demerit points. Do not contact the Nevada DMV as they will not know your home states policies. Below is a link to DMV contact information for all 50 states.

http://www.safemotorist.com/DMV_Locations.aspx

What if I receive 12 or more points in one year on my driving record?

If you receive 12 or more points in a 12 month period, your driver license is automatically suspended for 6 months.

I just received a traffic violation, should I take traffic safety school right now?

No. Wait until you receive notification that the demerit points have been applied to your record. If you were to take a course before the demerit points show up on your record, you won’t receive the 3-point deduction.

Demerit Point Guide

Below is a guide from the Nevada DMV for demerit points per traffic violation. This guide does not contain all traffic violations, for a full list, click here: http://www.dmvnv.com/pdfforms/violcodes.pdf

Reckless Driving - 8

Speeding

Careless Driving - 6

1-10 mph over posted limit - 1

Failure to give information or render aid at the scene of an accident - 6

11-20 mph over posted limit - 2

Following too closely - 4

21-30 mph over posted limit - 3

Failure to yield right-of-way - 4

31-40 mph over posted limit - 4

Passing a school bus when signals are flashing - 4

41 mph or more over posted limit - 5

Failure to yield to a pedestrian - 4

Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign - 4

Impeding traffic, driving to slowly - 2

Failure to dim headlights - 2